Floor Shifter for auto tranny

Discussion in 'New Members Section' started by AMS3, Jan 8, 2021.

  1. AMS3

    AMS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    217
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    I was talking to a motorhead on facebook yesterday. He mentioned I should install a floor shifter. Is there such a thing, and has anyone installed one???
     
  2. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    756
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    A floor shifter is cable controlled, just like your existing one.

    The issue with using any other shifter is our FOURTH GEAR (Overdrive) is controlled by the ECU so a replacement shifter would be no more useful (or useless) than our existing one.

    In the "old days", if you were in "D" for Drive cruising down the highway and pulled the shifter into Second, it would shift down into SECOND.

    With our trucks, if you are cruising down the highway with the Tow/Haul in the normal OFF position, the transmission will be in FOURTH or OVERDRIVE. If you pull the shifter into SECOND, it will shift from Overdrive/Fourth INTO SECOND and your Tach will look very surprised.

    The shifters on aftermarket units are also quite short so would would likely be reaching over and down to get to it. Most of them look rather "Industrial" and/or have cheap plastic sides to them.

    Personal advice to the "Motorhead on Facebook's" recommendation- HARD PASS.
     
    Kiwi SRT10 and AMS3 like this.
  3. AMS3

    AMS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    217
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    10-4, that's why I asked the question. Thanks a bunch Ronnie!!!!!!!
    I do have to wonder how much a stick shift conversion cost though....
     
    Kiwi SRT10 and rottenronnie like this.
  4. 68charger

    68charger Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    Location:
    alberta ca.
    these guys carry some taller shifters and they work with the 48re, i was thinking about getting one for a project i'm working on.

    https://www.kilduffmachine.com/
     
    Kiwi SRT10, AMS3 and rottenronnie like this.
  5. AMS3

    AMS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    217
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    Some nice shifters, and looks like a nightmare to rig up with the cables.
     
    Kiwi SRT10 likes this.
  6. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    756
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Shouldn't be too bad as the factory shifter only requires ONE cable from the shifter down, to work.

    My main concern for you is the 48RE's 3-4 (Overdrive) shift is controlled by the ECU and that is hard-coded into the ECU (not "tunable").
    You could install a 10-speed floor shifter if you like but it won't change the operation of your transmission under it.

    If you like the look of a floor-mounted shifter, install one. It might look kinda cool.

    OR, go with a 6-speed conversion.
    Many ways to personalize your own rig.

    Have fun.
     
    68charger, AMS3 and Kiwi SRT10 like this.
  7. Kiwi SRT10

    Kiwi SRT10 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    423
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Like mine:D