Gauge Cluster

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ViperKiller, Feb 15, 2021.

Car Parts
  1. ViperKiller

    ViperKiller New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    Hey ya’ll! Does anyone know if you can safely pry the front plastic cover off of the gauge cluster in our trucks if you need to replace a cracked one?

    A shop cracked mine and I don’t know if I can just buy an old cluster from a donor truck on eBay and swap the plastic covers, or if they break when trying to pull them off of the gauge cluster? It’s so annoying to see the Speedo through a cracked plastic piece :(

    If I can do this, is it 02-08s that I can grab a replacement from?
     
  2. Kiwi SRT10

    Kiwi SRT10 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    587
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Could also get one off Cleveland auto parts they wreck heaps of them
     
  3. AMS3

    AMS3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    If Cleveland doesn't have one, try X2 Builders and talk to either Shannon Vance, or Nicole.
     
  4. ViperKiller

    ViperKiller New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    I messaged them but for some reason they are incredibly slow to respond. They only have the full clusters, and it says to inquire about the mileage on each cluster. I did that, and a few days later they said they will get back to me about the mileage on the 4 units they had. I waited a few days and responded back that that sounds good to me. A couple days later they responded by just asking what mileage I wanted?
     
  5. ViperKiller

    ViperKiller New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    I have been looking into that but I am not sure what year and model is a match, and it actually seems like most of them are in worse condition than my cracked one :(
     
  6. 96indyshaker

    96indyshaker New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Location:
    Auburn,Indiana
    Before you get to deep into buying one out of a 10. Why couldn't you go to a local salavage yard buy one from a regular ram that would hopefully be cheaper. Take it apart to see if its even possible to replace just the broken part?
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  7. ViperKiller

    ViperKiller New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2020
    yes, that is what I was trying to do, but I was mentioning that x2 only had full clusters. And I still dont know what year and models are matches. I think it is all 02-08 ram 1500's but it might be only 02-05 and might also include 2500, etc. But I am definitely only looking for the lens and the black attachment that attaches to the lens and goes in between the lens and the cluster itself.
     
  8. AMS3

    AMS3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    Is it even legal to replace a cluster with another? If your truck has higher mileage than the one you were to get, couldn't someone get into trouble? Just curious.
     
  9. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,569
    Likes Received:
    1,009
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Up in these here parts you are supposed to let the next owner know the cluster has been changed.

    So, I guess you could sell someone your vehicle for a dollar, tell them about the cluster, buy it back for a dollar and then go back to whatever it was you were doing at the time it used to be a concern of yours. ;)
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  10. 96indyshaker

    96indyshaker New Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    Location:
    Auburn,Indiana
    I started to do some research before work. The article i read said theres somewhere you can send them to be reprogrammed. It also said something about the ecu not liking it when a different cluster is pluged in.
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  11. AMS3

    AMS3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    LOL!
     
  12. beastmode1

    beastmode1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Check with your dodge dealer and find out what the process would be. I assume they would have to reprogramme that cluster to your truclk as you do not want to brand your 10 with TMU moniker.
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  13. beastmode1

    beastmode1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Welcome to the RBC.
     
  14. killerbee4649

    killerbee4649 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Yes you can remove it. It’s held on with little “tabs” I guess you would call them. I’ve had to remove mine once before and it’s fine. Just be careful because it’s probably brittle.
     
    AMS3 and GSJake like this.
  15. beastmode1

    beastmode1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I
    I like that idea.
     
  16. beastmode1

    beastmode1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Good information from killer bee 4649!!!
     
    killerbee4649 and AMS3 like this.
  17. beastmode1

    beastmode1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    2 weeks ago I went to New Mexico in the 10. There are always some smart ass fools who always get on your nerves and try to test the 10. This time it was a new model dodge ram 1500 all jerked up. I let him pass me up couple of times, provoking the 10. I waited and waited till I got on this stretch of I-25 that is straight for 5-10 miles and let it rip. The viper struck, passed his ass at 130miles an hour he was in shock literally. That 1500 was completely destroyed. Stopped at shell to fill up and have the family stretch, and here he comes. The facial expression said it all. He says," man what is under your hood?" Then he saw the viper emblems on the hood and lets out a loud bellow, That's the Viper truck never seen one before. I loved every moment of it but will never do that again as on my way back the State trooper got behind me, passed me looking at the truck as if someone tipped him off. This time I was on my best manners lol!!!!!
     
  18. beastmode1

    beastmode1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    209
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    On replacing the Speedometer cluster, unless done at the dealer, it becomes a TMU total Miles unknown and yes you have to fill out an odometer disclosure form at the state troopers office. at least that is how it is done here in the centennial state. When selling the vehicle, you still have to disclose it.
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  19. AMS3

    AMS3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    670
    Likes Received:
    339
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    He may have been sitting in the trees when you went W.O.T. the first time, just couldn't get up the nerve to chase you down.
     
    Kiwi SRT10 and TrailMix like this.