How to tell if my truck has been tuned???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kennygene, Jul 26, 2010.

Car Parts
  1. kennygene

    kennygene Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    WV
    I really never looked into this before. I have owned my truck for almost 2 years. I noticed it has a Magnaflow cat back and K&N drop in filter.

    The question is the tune. I thought it had a stock tune until I read a post on here about the rev limiter. Can anybody tell me for sure how to tell if I have a stock tune or has it been changed?

    Truck is a 2004 rc.
     
  2. kennygene

    kennygene Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    WV
    Bump...can anybody help?
     
  3. ViperTruck2933

    ViperTruck2933 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    3,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    STL/Santa Rosa Beach
    If it has a BG or DC Perf pcm it should have a sticker on the pcm saying "For Offroad Use only" or something to that effect. If it has been tuned with the SCT you probably won't be able to tell.;)
     
  4. Midnight Runner

    Midnight Runner New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    7,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    When my son's 04 was tuned. The stock shift point was 5400 rpm,now it is 5900 rpm. If that helps.
     
  5. ViperTruck2933

    ViperTruck2933 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    3,930
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    STL/Santa Rosa Beach

    :dontknow: 2004 is a manual.
     
  6. Midnight Runner

    Midnight Runner New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    7,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    That's right DC. did my son's.
     
  7. Midnight Runner

    Midnight Runner New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    7,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Yes it is.
     
  8. kennygene

    kennygene Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    WV
    No stickers but the rev limit is 6,000 rpms - is that normal?
     
  9. 10banger

    10banger Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Location:
    Someplace warm....I'm talking about a little place
    As far as I know you have had some sort of flash or PCM replacement. 6,000 RPM's is not stock rev limit.
     
  10. kennygene

    kennygene Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    WV
    That's what I was trying to find out. Somebody told me stock was 5,500rpm. Do my hp/tq numbers look normal ofr a cat back, tune, and drop in? (see sig)
     
  11. hcetzneb

    hcetzneb Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Location:
    CT
    i would think a easy way of telling is when your fan comes on... if it kicks on at 170 than its tuned
     
  12. Midnight Runner

    Midnight Runner New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    7,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    DC, told me it was 5400 rpm for stock.
     
  13. Midnight Runner

    Midnight Runner New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    7,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    My son's is at 170 but Torrie did mine and i didn't do that so mine looks stock if you look at it that way.
     
  14. kennygene

    kennygene Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    WV
    Thanks fellas, I think the fan does kick on at 170. I know I just installed a new 170 tstat and it still had the original so at least this wasn't done with the tune.
    I am still having problems with the truck going over 200 degrees. The hydraulic fan setup sucks!!!
     
  15. Srt10ram

    Srt10ram Full Access Member

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    I always thought the Stock Rev. Limiter was 6050, atleast thats where mine cuts out at with NO tune just Catless and Magnaflow...
     
  16. kennygene

    kennygene Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    WV
    Are you sure your truck has not been tuned?
     
  17. Srt10ram

    Srt10ram Full Access Member

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    I'm pretty damn sure, because when I bought it last
    November it had 3800 miles, completely stock, and
    the owner said he recently had to get a replacement
    PCM from Dodge because the old one took a crap....

    However, I do know that the quad cabs have a lowered Rev Limiter i guess because of the shift points.:dontknow:
     
  18. kennygene

    kennygene Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Location:
    WV
    Maybe some other regular cab owners will chime in on this?
     
  19. 505'sFastestViper.

    505'sFastestViper. Full Access Member

    Messages:
    13,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Farmington, N.M.
    mine would go to 6k when it was bone stock>>>>>
     
  20. 505'sFastestViper.

    505'sFastestViper. Full Access Member

    Messages:
    13,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Location:
    Farmington, N.M.
    and i don think any of the tunes change the rev limiter pn the qcs it just changes the shift points...not much to really be gained by a tune on a rc....un less you put it up on the dyno and even then results will be minimal