QC Stalling

Discussion in 'Forum Requests' started by jbsrt10, Sep 4, 2015.

  1. jbsrt10

    jbsrt10 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    So about every other time I drive my truck when I punch the throttle the motor starts sputtering an gets no power an now it has started stalling, it stalled at 70 mph and at 20 mph, but it doesn't do this everytime but more than not I have no idea what is causing this?.
     
  2. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    It could be a failed Throttle position Sensor.
    Is the Check-Engine Light On?

    When did it start doing it and did you make ANY changes just before this problem started?
    Is there water in your fuel? Is the tank low?
    Does it idle ok/normally?- Not faster or slower..
    etc...
     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2015
  3. jbsrt10

    jbsrt10 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Haven't really made any changes, check engine light is on, but the code is evap code, was doing doing when fuel was low around 1/4 tank but now it does with over half a tank, it idles good just when I get on the gas little harder than normal it does this
     
  4. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Find out exactly what tripped the check engine light, fix that issue and go from there. I have no idea if you work on your truck or not. It might be best to take it to a dealer??
     
  5. jbsrt10

    jbsrt10 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Code is p0442 that is the only code showing would this make my engine stall an sputter all the time
     
  6. Jfireboy1

    Jfireboy1 Active Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, Fla
    No... The p0442 will not cause that. Common issue as I've been driving mine for a couple years now with that code as well. Its the vacuum canister on mine that causes that code. Check your throttle position sensor
     
  7. jbsrt10

    jbsrt10 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    I took off the throttle position Sensor but can't tell if it's bad or not? Could it be fuel pump or full filter?
     
  8. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,553
    Likes Received:
    34
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    No serviceable fuel filter to change.
    Try replacing the Throttle Position Sensor and keep yours for a spare; they go bad from time to time and won't necessarily trip a check engine light.
    They are a really important sensor in that they dictate both fuel and timing.

    If you do replace it, disconnect BOTH battery cables from the battery and touch the cables briefly together so the ECU can't retain any information from the old TP sensor in memory.
    The truck MAY idle a touch rough for a few seconds until the ECU figures out what planet it's on after touching the cables together as it will be starting from scratch gathering info from the sensors.

    PS Touching the cables together is NOT the same as disconnecting the battery and/or all three ECU cables, standing on one foot while doing so with a stopwatch, etc, etc.
    It works.

    Good Luck.
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2015
  9. jbsrt10

    jbsrt10 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    So I replaced the tps an drove the truck and it drove fine check engine light went off for a day an then today truck stalled at 35mph I started back up an it stared sputtering aging idk I gees I'll check fuel pressure
     
  10. jbsrt10

    jbsrt10 New Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    I'm getting a code P0320 could the crank sensor be causin all my troubles?
     
  11. VPRPWRD

    VPRPWRD VTCoA Ring Leader Supporting Member

    Messages:
    10,833
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    Yes it could be.
     
  12. VENOMOUS1 RACING

    VENOMOUS1 RACING Has Left the Room - Banned from VTCOA!

    Messages:
    12,753
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Wacko Waco,TX
    Try crank sensor as they are still available. More often than not though lately it's the cam sensor and they are not available as of now :(
     
  13. 6speedquadcab

    6speedquadcab NorCal SF Bay Area Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,114
    Likes Received:
    13
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2014
    Location:
    South Bay
    Why do we have all these sensors????? :bawling:
     
  14. VNDK8TR

    VNDK8TR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Sputter and stalling fix

    Change throttle position sensor and crank sensor. They work hand in hand. Disconnect both positive and negative terminals and touch together for 30 seconds to clear old error codes. Disconnecting just negative will not clear codes for new sensors. Sensors are still available. Hope this helps.
     
  15. Kopack_05

    Kopack_05 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Location:
    Florida
    He most likely fixed that problem a couple of years ago.
     
  16. beastmode1

    beastmode1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    I was also thinking of bad fuel probably water in that gas.
     
  17. beastmode1

    beastmode1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2014
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Normally it would throw up some codes but my guess is bad fuel.
     
  18. VNDK8TR

    VNDK8TR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    I did it 5 6 months ago. I even ordered another of each to keep in stock. Since I replaced sensors I have not had one issue. It worked. There not expensive. Worth it to just do it. Easy to do. Will take 20 min. Crank sensor is on passengers side just inside by motor mount. You will need to lift front right of truck. Accessible only from bottom. Speed sensor is on throttle body. 2 screws and connector , done. Make sure to disconnect both positive and negative terminals before you start. When your done before connecting terminals touch them together for 30 sec. don't worry it will only release any remaining power. This will make sure that your error codes will be deleted with out a doubt. Hope this helps.
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2017
  19. NightRunnerRC

    NightRunnerRC Full Access Member

    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Location:
    Southeast Texas
    Mine did something similar way back, ended up being a catalytic converter going bad. Back pressure made the engine bog.
     
  20. VNDK8TR

    VNDK8TR Full Access Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    The cats right from the manufacturer are made from some kind of a cardboard honeycomb form. They failed on me pretty much at 40 to 50,000 miles so anybody running them after that mileage should change them out or else your heating up your manifolds thus heating up your motor There are a few available now that are higher flow and cheaper than the manufacture. 400 per side average. You may be able to find it cheaper. And with this that I've just posted keep in mind my last post about sensors. I went through a lot of time, parts and money to learn that cheap fix. Hope this helps
     
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2017