Questions about Highspeed internet?

Discussion in 'Non-Offensive' started by PhatPharmacist, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. PhatPharmacist

    PhatPharmacist Full Access Member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Well, I currently have DSL service, and its my parents account, but they are canceling it since they are moving. To me it was slow and half the time has no broadband connection, and not happy with service. I also want something faster than DSL, like Roadrunner Cable service. The company website is just a marketing tool with little information on pricing except promotion and premium service. So, for those that have it what are your experiences, and what kind of prices for services are there after the promo period.

    When they say your service is 5Mbps for example, have you done a speed check to see if it really is 5Mbps or is slower like some have said, like 3Mbps?

    I don't plan on getting TV cable service since I already have dish, so can this be a stand alone service?

    I have two computers, can they both use the internet at the same time with a wirelss router?
     
  2. Django

    Django New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    26,704
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    Oceanside, CA. USA
    I do not have Roadrunner.... I have another cable company...Called Cox.

    I also have had DIRECT TV for about (oh shit) 18yrs or so.......

    I called the cable compnay and asked them to install basic 23 channel service and internet...... I think the whole thing is about $29 per month...... The cable signal is rarely EVER down and I have done business from home for about 5 yrs......

    I like cable internet... It's fast and really quite reliable.....

    That's all I have for ya....... good luck...;)

    D
     
  3. Kevan

    Kevan Full Access Member

    Messages:
    4,797
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Location:
    New Albany, OH
    Yes. I always check.
    http://reviews.cnet.com/7004-7254_7-0.html
    There are plenty of other bandwidth meters out there. Try 4 or 5 and average them.

    Sometimes, but rarely. Check with a couple of local cable companies. Call their 800 number and if you get one of those creep voice-activated things, just keep saying "HELP" or "CUSTOMER SERVICE".
    (for fun, do it in a wicked German accent)

    I'm not sure how you guys live with the dish setup, but if you REALLY want to keep it, there's a service called DirectPC. It uses the same dig. sat signal and brings you (alleged) cable-speeds to your 'net connection.
    Something to check into.

    Yes.
    The connections will go like this:
    Wall jack-->cable modem-->router-->computer (hard-wired to the router, or via a wireless connection.)
     
  4. ntw0rk

    ntw0rk New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    14,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, TX
    :dito::withstupid:


    Yeah, what Kevan said!

    I love my high speed cable! I have the digital combo from Brighthouse, and it is fast and reliable. I also run Vonage through it, never had any real trouble with it!

    When you get a router, spend the extra money to get a good one! If you go wireless at all, get the N-Band with MiMo. It will cost more, but will be worth it, especially if you have more than one machine online at a time.
    Also make sure that you secure your wireless signal, and protect your PC against adware, spyware and viruses.
     
  5. Prof

    Prof New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    23,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    Wadsworth, IL
    I have Comcast...with most of the bells and whistles...costs about $200 a month mostly because of the television options...be careful of the "Start Up" costs jumping significantly in year two...
     
  6. KRAZYSRT10

    KRAZYSRT10 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Excuse me for butting in...but...uh...how would one secure their wireless connection? I...I mean...my friend has been wondering this for years now.:D:D:D
     
  7. ntw0rk

    ntw0rk New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    14,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, TX
    You have to connect directly to the firmware on the router, through your web browser. Usually the address is something like: 192.168.1.1 Just put that in your browser and see if it brings up the firmware page. If that is not it, refer to the owners manual for the router. (You can usually find more info online too)

    Once you are in the router, it's usually pretty simple to at least name the router, and setup a basic WEP connection. (Wired Equivalent Privacy)

    There are other levels of security, and depending on the router itself, you can lock it down pretty good!

    I like to turn on MAC address filtering so that only computers that I say can use my router, can connect.

    Help?
     
  8. KRAZYSRT10

    KRAZYSRT10 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    When I get a chance I will try it..on the other hand I just downloaded Firefox onto my laptop....so now I need to see what all the buzz is about!:D
     
  9. KRAZYSRT10

    KRAZYSRT10 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    And what is this stumble thingy I keep hearing about...sorry about the jacking of this thread.:)
     
  10. Prof

    Prof New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    23,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    Wadsworth, IL
    You will love Mozilla Foxfire...Stumble will take you to places that will expand your mind!
     
  11. KRAZYSRT10

    KRAZYSRT10 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    9,647
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    It definitely moves faster than IE and I think I'm liking it!:D

    It looks different and I'm trying to get used to the Bookmarks tab...but other than that, it seems to be waaaay better than the old thing!:D
     
  12. jrgnd

    jrgnd Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2006

    Your connection speed will vary depending the users online and load on your specific network segment.

    The only two ways thank you will get a constant 3M UP and 5M down will be if folks in your area are not online/using the bandwidth heavily or you get a dedicated line(Meaning the Telcom guarantees your thru outhput which is extremely expensive).

    I personally have Cox and I am happy with it.
     
  13. QueLocura

    QueLocura Full Access Member

    Messages:
    550
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    I have Comcast Digital Cable.. I got my phone line, digital cable, and cable internet ALL for $99 a month :)
    I LOVE my cable internet...they say its supposed to be around 5 mbps but everytime I check on www.speedtest.net my download rate is actually around 10-11 mbps?? Vurrry nice!! (Borat voice)
     
  14. PhatPharmacist

    PhatPharmacist Full Access Member

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Cool thanks for the info. As far as hardware goes, looks like I'll need a nice router like the N-band. Now that I think about it, I want to connect two computers and my PS3 to the internet. The PS3 is lots of fun for online multiplayer. ;-) So, I'll look into a nice wireless router.
     
  15. Gaboon

    Gaboon Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Location:
    Utah

    :dito: :dito: :dito:
     
  16. Bone

    Bone New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    6,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    GA
  17. Black1

    Black1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    29,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    On the dark side of the road
    I have Roadrunner (Through Brighthouse Cable).... I absolutely LOVE IT. I got the "Big Bad Nasty" package :D (10Mb Down - ?? Up).... I've tested it on DSL Reports (www.dslreports.com) just now, and here is what I got.....

    Test 2007-08-29 19:44:19 EST @ speedtest.dslreports.com
    8684 / 969 (Kbps)
    (1060 / 118.3 KB/sec) (This is the "normal" Cable speed)

    The damn thing SCREAMS. :rock:

    Whatever you do, DO NOT buy DirecPC!!!!!!! :eek: I had that shit in MI and it sucked! :mad: (Plus, you have to buy equip. that costs over $1500). :mad: Oh, and you can't play Online games (PC, XBox, PS3) on there either.... The upload speed is worse than Dial-Up.
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2007
  18. shade

    shade Full Access Member

    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2007
    Location:
    Out getting strange
    Depending on where you live you may be able to get Verizons FIOS service
    Its basically fiber that runs directly to your house instead of cable.
    Its good for like 15MB down and 1-2 mb up.
    Thats just a starting point and the limits with fiber will be endless once verizon gets their end powered up more. You'll probably see 30mb down in the next year or 2.
     
  19. ntw0rk

    ntw0rk New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    14,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Location:
    Greenville, TX

    I can't wait for that to hit my area and be affordable!!!!!:rock::rock:
     
  20. Black1

    Black1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    29,470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Location:
    On the dark side of the road
    Hellz YEAH!!!!! :rock: :rock: :rock: I can download a WHOLE Porn DVD in like, 0.0003 seconds FLAT! :D :rock: :eek: