SFI Flexplate a reality!

Discussion in 'Performance Mods' started by HaroldD, Aug 2, 2011.

  1. HaroldD

    HaroldD New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    So, we finally have a source for a SFI Flexplate! :congrats::rock:

    Olin from Reactor Products worked through it. It took him a while, but I'm happy with the end result.

    Many thanks (again) to Patrick (Dragon) at Avondale Dodge for tracking down the manual trans ring gear. Olin used that to source the ring gear for the flexplate.

    It won't be installed for a few weeks yet when my trans comes out for some warranty work. :(

    Here are some pics next to a new stocker that I sent him for reference.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. ZCx

    ZCx Active Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    9,780
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Big D
    :rock::rock::rock:

    what did it have to do to qualify for SFI ratin????:dontknow:
     
  3. HaroldD

    HaroldD New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I think just be bulletproof. :dontknow::dontknow:

    He's putting his nads on the line with racing organizations that require SFI. Seems to me if his stuff comes apart, they don't send him anymore stickers. ? :D

     
  4. Yellow venom

    Yellow venom Boosted Venom Supporting Member

    Messages:
    7,800
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Location:
    Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
    Looks excellent! So what gains to you get other then strength and durability? Power increase? Quicker revving?
     
  5. SANTEEN

    SANTEEN Active Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    6,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Location:
    Miami, Fl
    Will these be available for the rest of us soon. I got a tranny going in soon. It would be a good time to do it. What did it cost ya?
     
  6. VENOMOUS1 RACING

    VENOMOUS1 RACING Has Left the Room - Banned from VTCOA!

    Messages:
    12,753
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Wacko Waco,TX
    If not mistaken, the benefit is a helluva lot safer flexplate. NOT lighter or quicker revving, just stronger. Approved materials and assembly by racing sanctions.:dontknow:
     
  7. HaroldD

    HaroldD New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Only not cracking the stocker. :rock: I will weigh the two and post up, but I don't think it's lighter at all, and potentially heavier.

    I've cracked one in the SRT and one in our 7.3 diesel. For the diesel, lots are available, but not for our trucks.

    You are only at risk of cracking if you have a quick shifting trans and some tires that hook. Stock, I think that reinforced hub they put on helps a lot.

     
  8. HaroldD

    HaroldD New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    They are available now - made to order. It was around $400, I don't remember the exact figure though. :dontknow::D Worth every penny if you don't have to take out the trans again! :D

     
  9. Mighty1

    Mighty1 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    Congrats on finally getting them to make it!!! I had given up on that guy a while ago and bought a stock one :(
     
  10. HaroldD

    HaroldD New Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    1,044
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Stocker is 6 lb 3oz, Reactor is 6 lb 6 oz.:rock::rock:
     
  11. Boosted4door

    Boosted4door New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    I just installed this same flexplate. Seems to be as soon as I torqued down my bell housing bolts now I can’t get engine to turn even with my best force on the harmonic balancer. Any idea’s? 2006 quad cab automatic. Thank you
     
  12. ZCx

    ZCx Active Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    9,780
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Big D
    lets start with simple questions.....

    is the tranny up???

    ya got crankshaft end play???

    can it be put on backwards???

    is the torque converter all the way in the pump???

    possible converter bolt probs???
     
  13. Boosted4door

    Boosted4door New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Okay, thank you for the quick reply. I’ll break it down. I was halving trouble getting the bolts that connect torque converter to flex plate on. So I figured I would bolt everything up to the bell housing and then connect flexplate to torque converter. Prior to all this I was using harmonic balancer to spin flex plate to try to line up flex plate and torque converter. After making sure the torque convert was all the way in correctly I bolted the bell housing up. After torquing all hell housing bolts down to spec I attempted to turn harmonic balancer and I have it everything I had and could not get that flex plate to spin. The only conclusion I could come to was that the flex plate was to thick.
     
  14. Boosted4door

    Boosted4door New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Another option I was thinking. The truck has a transmission built by HTS. It has a JTS performance torque converter. Could it be that the torque converter is to big to put a beefier flex plate in it. Makes me wonder if that could possibly be why it had the stock flex plate..

    Thanks for all the help, I’m new to this forum stuff!
     
  15. ZCx

    ZCx Active Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    9,780
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Location:
    Big D
    Tony could answer the convert question.

    so the engine turns over with the tranny out???
     
  16. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,702
    Likes Received:
    97
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    No, the converter is likely smaller if it is a higher stall speed than stock.

    Side-note: The converter should also be a bit lighter, which is always good.
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2018