Clutch Problems @ 13,000 miles??

Halligan

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Well, I'm a newbie on here, and I love the site...I did a little search but couldnt find much.

I jumped in my truck yesterday morning, started her, and couldnt get her into gear - finally got her into reverse to get out of the driveway, but still had a hard time getting her into first. I figured it was b/c it was cold, but I called the dealer and he said something wasn't right. Got her there this morning (same problem this morning at home), and they said the clutch and flywheel had to be replaced because the clutch was not fully disengaging. Have other people had this problem? What causes this?

I bought my truck with 10k miles on it. It has 13,900 now. I've babied it since I have owned, and I'm not hard on the clutch, I don't ride the clutch, and I've never dumped the clutch. The clutch, since, I've had it felt sloppy. But they always said that it was b/c it was a hydraulic setup. Let me know your thoughts... Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Kyle

doesn't sound like a clutch problem, sounds like a clutch slave and cylinder probelm, has been an issure in the past. recently changed mine out.

i bought my truck with 10k miles and beat on it for 2 days and my stock clutch slave flywheel were all toast! I then installed the centerforce/fidenza/viper slave and have been beating on it hard for 13,000 miles with no issues....still feels like the first day I replaced it!

Upgrade the entire clutch setup with a viper car setup. The hydraulics in the trucks are cheap plastic that wear out with heat and time. The viper car hydraulics are metal, which hold up to the heat and are stronger.

An aftermarket clutch kit will 'top-off' the combination and give you the solid shifts you need.

Add some high temp fluid, and you will be set for a while :)

-Red