Differential Cover Gasket????

Skyydiver

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know where and or a part # of a DANA 60 differential cover gasket? The shop manual by DC says no gasket available...to use RTV pookie.

I have to be honest here, I am a pretty competent mechanic, but when it comes to using RTV on differential covers, I can never get a good seal and I always wind up developing a leak...which means, I always have to go back in and redo it...plus, that crap makes the biggest mess. I have tried varying size beads...vary drying times before putting the cover back in place...still get leaks. Obviously I must be mentally challenged in this skill set. Ha! :D

So I am hoping someone knows where I can get a Dana 60 gasket (if it even exists) or at least maybe a part #.

Thanks,
Joe

NO gasket use sealant... come see me at the dealer I've got some good stuff---will not leak

I've used the Loctite Blue RTV stuff for many differentials, never had leaks or sweats. It all depends on how you apply the stuff, not too much, not too little.

I have replaced many diff covers and have done many fluid changes with RTV as the gasket. Never had a leak yet. I use Permatex black gasket maker. Make sure the gasket surfaces are completely oil free and dry. The trick I do is to finger tighten the bolts just enough until you see the RTV start to squeeze out. Then I let it sit for 20-30 minutes before going back to torque them.

Good luck!
-Muzzy

see...I'm telling you...everyone else can do this simple task...but apparently I ride the short bus when it comes to using RTV! Ha Ha Ha :D :D :D

Muzzy said:
I have replaced many diff covers and have done many fluid changes with RTV as the gasket. Never had a leak yet. I use Permatex black gasket maker. Make sure the gasket surfaces are completely oil free and dry. The trick I do is to finger tighten the bolts just enough until you see the RTV start to squeeze out. Then I let it sit for 20-30 minutes before going back to torque them.