Help with links or info on the Vipers

razorbackfan

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know this isn't technically a truck question but I felt it belonged here more than off topic.

I am starting my research on buying a viper. I am looking at what year/s would be the best to look at, what to look for when test driving, which engines were forged and which are cast etc.

I would ask this over at ViperAlley but I'm a noob there and it doesn't look like questions like this get answered very well. I've done searches in both forums but haven't come up with much. I do know that some of you have either both the truck and car or have moved to the car so thanks for any info you can lay on me.

What style Gen 1, 2, or 3? What kind of power/overall goal are you wanting?
Justin

JMB Justin said:
What style Gen 1, 2, or 3? What kind of power/overall goal are you wanting?
Justin

I like all the year models so I don't really have a preference on style, I was just wondering if there were certain years to stay away from or to look for. In the power department, it will probably stay stock for a while then maybe a supercharger.

I probably wouldn't like the Gen 1 unless I am wrong in thinking they don't have proper tops or side windows?

I've read that the '03+ are alot more user friendly on the interior and also have the same engine as the truck so they might be a benefit with parts interchange. Did the '03+ have cast pistons/weak rods like the trucks? Did the earlier engines have forged internals?

This link will give you some good info on Gen I and II cars:
http://www.theviperregistry.org/features.php