Nascar technical institute

GADodgetech

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm considering going to NTI after i graduatue high school, i just dont know much about the opportunities once I graduate. I've been working at the dodge dealer in town for 2 years now and I do chrysler training. But I definatley dont want to work for a dealer, i want to build race engines. I've toured NTI in mooresville, NC. Its a cool place and I can learn alot, I just dont know if engine builders are in high demand right now? any input would be appreciated.

I have friends who have graduated from NTI. None of them works for a race team. I believe they tell you up front that very few grads end up with race teams. And with companies pulling their sponsorship agreements from teams fror '09 because of the economy, I'd say it would be difficult at best to get on with a team.

Just my .02. Come to Macon.

Good luck! I hope you get the job of your dreams.. just keep being the BEST at what you do and it shouldn't be too far off.

Man once you get sucked into turning wrenches its hard to get out...I also had planned to attend NTI when I started UTI back in 03-04...However Once I really looked into very few people actually get picked or even land jobs in Nascar. My recruiter liked me a lil bit and told me straight up. If you do NTI it would be fun for the experience but you could also learn the same stuff if you hang out with some of the folks that do dirt 8th mile racing somewhere around your town....Very unlikely that you get a job,,,As far as building an engine,,,the best way to learn is build your very own and Imo a book and internet forums will go a long way and not cost you $5k plus...

Most jobs in glamour industries do not pay very well until you become "somebody" and therefore "marketable".

The reason being that the "in" people feel that it's a stepping stone to great fortune and you need to pay some serious dues first....