Needed Land lord legal advice in Suffolk County Long Island NY

VNM PWRD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
We have tenants at our beach home and do not have a written lease with them and would like them to vacate does any one know our rights to evict them.

Cheers J.T.

any lease that is not on paper is month by month. This is how it is in Washington. I'm a licensed Real Estate Agent here.
best thing to do is to give the tenants a thirty day notice and see what they say.

Marius

VNM PWRD said:
We have tenants at our beach home and do not have a written lease with them and would like them to vacate does any one know our rights to evict them.

Cheers J.T.
MONTH-TO-MONTH TENANTS

Tenants who do not have leases and pay rent on a monthly basis are called "month-to-month" tenants. In localities without rent regulations, tenants who stay past the end of a lease are treated as month-to-month tenants if the landlord accepts their rent. (Real Property Law § 232-c)

A month-to-month tenancy outside New York City may be terminated by either party by giving at least one month's notice before the expiration of the term. For example, if the rent is due on the first of each month, the landlord must inform the tenant by September 30th before the October rent is due that he wants the tenant to move out by November 1st. The termination notice need not specify why the landlord seeks possession of the apartment. Such notice does not automatically allow the landlord to evict the tenant. A landlord may raise the rent of a month-to-month tenant with the consent of the tenant. If the tenant does not consent, however, the landlord can terminate the tenancy by giving appropriate notice. (Real Property Law § 232-b)