Towing Question

VNM PWRD

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have very little experience towing .... So if you could enlighten me :D it would be much appreciated .... I want to tow my G500 to NY with the Land Rover LR3 which is rated to 7700 lbs the G500 comes in at 5680 lbs and U-haul
trailer comes in at 2000 lbs .... So i thought it would be OK :dontknow: but U-haul states that you can not tow any thing over 4000 lbs http://www.uhaul.com/guide/index.aspx?equipment=towing-autotransport Do you think I would be all right if I did this ?

This sounds iffy, without knowing the tire ratings, axle ratings, ect, it would be difficult to know if this safe.

FSTJACK said:
This sounds iffy, without knowing the tire ratings, axle ratings, ect, it would be difficult to know if this safe.
Hey Jack,
Well its a tandem axle trailer ... I am not sure but I thought the axles would be rated at the minmum of 3500 each x2 = 7000 :dontknow: I will have to stop by U-haul and take a look at the tire ratings :toilet: Would happen to have idea of place that would rent one that would meet my needs ?

Cheers J.T.

If either of them is a straight shift and transfer case has a neutral position flat tow it with a tow bar. Beats the heck out of towing an extra 2000 lbs. across the country.

FATJACK said:
If either of them is a straight shift and transfer case has a neutral position flat tow it with a tow bar. Beats the heck out of towing an extra 2000 lbs. across the country.

Tell me more:dontknow: how about the stopping part:eek:

apply pedal sooner:p

but on the trailor, your tires would be the main thing, most of the u haul trailors are pretty tough, but check the one you may get good.

and keep the tires aired up, and dont speed to high,mostly the limit, and take frequent stops to let the tires cool;)

All the u-haul trailers have crappy brake system... they all use the inertia type brake systems...