wheres the thermostat ?

solsir4

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am installing a 170 degree thermostat and stage 2 dg flash . I assumed the thermostat would be right where the radiator hose goes into the engine . I now assume that the thermostat is inside of the water pump ? That thing does not look easy to get out . Any help would be appreciated , i am just an amateur thinking it would take twenty minutes to do everything ...

It's part of the engine.:D

Here is a pic showing the housing. It's a pain to get to the lower left bolt. You need eye's in your fingertips.
IMG_2312.JPG
Don't forget to bleed the air out of the housing/system with the little brass valve on top.

that lower left bolt is going to be a pain in the butt . I did actually remember bleed the air outta the system . The engine is still kinda hot , i am going to give it a while , drink a few beers , then go attack it again . On the top left bolt there is not enough room to get the socket around the bolt , is that some kinda star pattern on the inside i have to use ?

solsir4 said:
is that some kinda star pattern on the inside i have to use ?

As I recall all the bolts have a torx head. Don't know what size.

the more i look at this thing the harder it looks . Is there actually only four bolts to get this thing apart , or it kinda looks like there are pulleys that have to be removed ?

No, three bolts, one nut. I took the hose off the thermo housing to give better access to the bolts. You might as well turn off the lights while working on the lower left bolt. It's all done by feel. Here is a link to a thread on the swap.
http://www.vtcoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2812

Last edited:
thanks silversrt10 , i would have it off by now but i dont have a torx head for the top left one , my friend is coming by later with one . Appreciate your help , cant wait to feel how much more power this is going to give me ...