Any Robotic/electronic/control gurus here?

mopar_mudder

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am completely new to motor controls so forgive me if it sounds like I don't know what I am talking about, because I probably don't. And it is way off topic for here but I thought someone might know something or know of a good place to ask.

I need a motor to control something that I am building. I need to be able to control it with an IR remote. I need to have 7 programmed positions in it that can be called up by the remote. Hit a button on the remote and it goes to the preprogrammed position, so it needs to know where it is starting from.

Also if possible I would like it to have some sort of speed control when starting and stopping. So it would ramp up to full RPM when starting and ramps down when stopping.

I could run it off a PC and then have the PC recieve the IR commands and tell it what to do.

To give you and idea I am using a hacked and modified TV antenna rotor to do this now.

Specs the motor needs to meet:
20 RPM Max (would like to use some sort of gear motor)
50 pound inch of torque (min)
Needs to beable to hold 15 pound inch of force when not running

Seems like a gear motor would be a good choice but don't know if a stepper gear motor is a common thing. Other wise a gear motor with a position control would be another option. I could put the parts that I took out of the rotor control on to a gear motor and make it work but I was looking for a little more elegant solution.

Any ideas to get me going in the right direction would great.

Just throwing things out there.
Look at an Arduino board Arduino - Hardware
and look for a project that involves servos.

I think that would be your best bet, but depends if your up to learning a new programming language.

can you use microswitches for your 7 positions? To tell if it has reached a position or not?