Car dies. P0320 code. Crank sensor?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by aznbuvu, Oct 4, 2015.

Car Parts
  1. aznbuvu

    aznbuvu New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Hey, got an 06 SRT RC. Truck died on all of a sudden and threw this code. Reset it by unplugging battery and after a few minutes, truck dies and CEL comes on again. Planning to change crank sensor. Is that what you guys think?
     
  2. shorty

    shorty Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Emory, Texas
    Do you already have the sensor? If not-----big problem. Hope it is something else. No one has them and no idea when they will be available---if ever. :(
     
  3. chaynick

    chaynick Full Access Member

    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    Is our crank sensor the same as the viper cars CPS?
     
  4. shorty

    shorty Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Emory, Texas
    Asking the wrong guy but check with Scott, one of our sponsors.

    VENOMOUS 1 RACING
     
  5. shorty

    shorty Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,053
    Likes Received:
    28
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Location:
    Emory, Texas
    e-mail Scott at:

    [email protected]
     
  6. johnthegoalie

    johnthegoalie Has Left the Room - Banned from VTCOA!

    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2014
    Location:
    sw desert
    Have you ran the code or just thinking crank sensor?
     
  7. VENOMOUS1 RACING

    VENOMOUS1 RACING Has Left the Room - Banned from VTCOA!

    Messages:
    12,753
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 15, 2009
    Location:
    Wacko Waco,TX
    Says p320 in title so yes it's cam/crank signal related.
    Try crank position sensor first. They are available still. Cam sensor is not as of yet.
     
  8. VPRPWRD

    VPRPWRD VTCoA Ring Leader Supporting Member

    Messages:
    10,835
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    I can get a cam sensor, takes a week but it is salty, $175.00 plus shipping.
     
  9. aznbuvu

    aznbuvu New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    That's the plan. Hopefully it is the crank sensor and not the cam sensor? Sucks that the truck dies now tho. Crossing fingers it's just the crank sensor.

    Might have to hit Vprpwrd if it is the cam sensor...
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2015
  10. chaynick

    chaynick Full Access Member

    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2011
    Location:
    Naperville, IL
    That's why i asked if they're the same as a car sensors. Auto Zone has CKS for 25 bucks.
     
  11. Wastelands Warrior

    Wastelands Warrior Full Access Member

    Messages:
    488
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Location:
    Wastelands of NJ
    Rock Auto is showing crank and cam sensors available from Standard Ignition.
     
  12. NukeGM/Ford

    NukeGM/Ford Active Member

    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2014
    Location:
    North Las Vegas, NV
    autozone swears both are available also, guess i need to order them to find out:dontknow:
     
  13. VPRPWRD

    VPRPWRD VTCoA Ring Leader Supporting Member

    Messages:
    10,835
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    Plenty of places say they have them, then you order them and the story changes. I do hope they are available for your sake but it hasn't been the case in the very recent past.
     
  14. V10Brian

    V10Brian New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    I have had several of these fail in my five vipers/trucks.
    Replacing one out is about the same amount of work as an oil change.
    For some reason the Mopar sensors are not reliable.
    I have had better luck the $20.00 in stock sensors from Autozone.
    Due to all the failures, I always carry a spare sensor in my glove box.

    Important: Make sure the length of the replacement sensor is the same as the old one. If not, it is possible deep engine damage could happen.
     
  15. THEWELSHM

    THEWELSHM Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    25
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Location:
    Brandon Florida
    Rock Auto has Crank sensors I just bought one..

    thewelshm
     
    Kiwi SRT10 likes this.
  16. V10Brian

    V10Brian New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2020
    Also important, if the tip of the sensor is damaged, you will need to add a washer to the bolt for a spacer. As the engine gets older, the tolerances get looser and sensor target could start hitting the sensor and damaging it. The opposite can also happen, if the sensor is spaced to far from its target or is weak, you will get intermittent p320 codes.
     
    Kiwi SRT10 likes this.