Cheap Effective Exhaust

Burkerice07

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well, Over the Past few Days i have been searching for some type of new Exhaust for my Stock SRT-10 2004, but with only 7500 Miles. And all ive come across Are kits that cost something Ungodly like $800.
For gods sake, I am a Poor College student, Why can't i have Loud Exhaust, So i just Strolled over to Advance Auto Parts and picked up 2, 2 1/2 inlet and outlet Thrush Magnum Glass-Pack Mufflers...
And am going to have my local Muffler shop install them for under $50, that a total of $90 spent on a BOOMing Glass-pack Exhaust. I mean really its a V-10 its gonna be like the end of the world back there.

Now this is what concerns me, Why am i the first person to do this, It seems to me like a simple and quick solution to get louder sound and better flow, is this not what everybody would be after???

Why does nobody do this, Am i missing out on something, or am i about to make a Big Mistake???

Last edited:
I have 3" Magnaflows...the stock pipes are 2.75"....paid less than $500.........there is a difference in exhaust not only in performance gains but how it sounds..........BTW..the guy who owned my truck originally put Thrush glass paks on.......sounded like a POS.......but he did install the mufflers backwards..;)

Last edited:
Glass packs huh....we'll see if you like em.

There is nothing wrong with going inexpensive as long at it works. I put straight pipes (instead of mufflers) in mine, and loved the sounds. I left the factory 2.75" and made more HP then most...it all depends on WHERE you want to spend the $$ and how much you have to spend. I saved up and got a blower and (to me) beneficial mods then dropping 2k on a headers back system.

you want inexpensive and (all opinion) sounds fine...straight pipe the muffs, keep the res.

-Red