Fan Module

Need for Speed

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Been having a problem. First thing in the morning, I start up the truck and back down the driveway, then turn the wheel and get an awful squealing from a belt and the power steering is out. By the time I get about 200 feet down ther road, problem is gone and doesn't do it again the rest of the day. I took it to the Dodge Stealer today and they tell me that the "fan module" is about to go out and they want $1600 to replace it! $1300 for the part and $300 labor!:argh:

So, does this sound right? :confused: Is this part something that can be purchased elsewhere (like here) and have someone else put it on? :confused: I am not a mechanic so I would have to get someone else to do the work. I just couldn't believe it when I heard the price! :mad: Any advice???

Need for Speed said:
Been having a problem. First thing in the morning, I start up the truck and back down the driveway, then turn the wheel and get an awful squealing from a belt and the power steering is out. By the time I get about 200 feet down ther road, problem is gone and doesn't do it again the rest of the day. I took it to the Dodge Stealer today and they tell me that the "fan module" is about to go out and they want $1600 to replace it! $1300 for the part and $300 labor!:argh:

So, does this sound right? :confused: Is this part something that can be purchased elsewhere (like here) and have someone else put it on? :confused: I am not a mechanic so I would have to get someone else to do the work. I just couldn't believe it when I heard the price! :mad: Any advice???
Elimiate it , go electric, gain HP:rock:

yeah their quote is pretty much dead on.

what u can do is get one on ebay or x2 for cheaper...

what i would do is just remove that whole setup and get the jmb electric

fan set up. moves good air and is cheaper at around 750.
It said to be a simple install..then just get stinker to get you a hose to bypass