Has anyone tried this....?

Yetti808

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been reading on here about some really sick na builds with new heads ect.... So I am a engine builder with a full machine shop. But... I build bikes.. So.. Has anyone just had the stock heads reworked?? 5 angle valve job,pockets blended, ported, or even have bigger valves installed? Not that it's as EZ to just "install" but just saying... I have yet to even look the ports on my truck. Had it a month so far... But o believe they are already nice D ports.. So WHY new heads? But like I said I build bikes so they are already F1 technology off the showroom floor. So it cost about a grand per hp on a single cylinder. "motocross bike".
If anyone has stock reworked heads I would to hear about the results or opinions also. As I will be working over my own truck as I feel the viper is actually giving me something to work with here!! Thanks for your input!

i'm acctually gonna pull my 8.0 apart here in late may to work on the heads. id acctually trust a machine shop a little more than myself haha, if you get into millin heads let me know. i'd deffinatly pay for a good port and polishing.

there are several folks here that work the stock heads, with great results.

the Strikers are the next & only step up after the stock heads have been worked to do all they can

Last edited:
Milling is the EZ part lol. It's porting that I'm not sure the outcome just bc I've never looked at one lol. Never checked clearances on one but I'm sure there is plenty room to mill a good .020 but I really have not a clue at this point... I will know one day though after I get one on a stand and can cc and measure everything. So I can't do anyone's other than mine until I get some info. if you do the work the machine work will ad a lot of power for about a grand for valve job,porting and milling. Like the best grand ever spent type of power. With ported intake and tb too obviously..