Having idle problems, HELP PLEASE!!

srt10_Shipton

•FANGS• V10..bc why not?!
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Im new to Viper trucks and recently bought a 2004 RC. Ive had a few problems and i fixed them but still have a few ongoing or need to be fixed. I started having idle issues. It started when i noticed that when im coming to a stop and put the clutch in the idle would drop slowly snd hang at about 1200 rpms for a few seconds. Then my idle dropped from 750ish to 500 or under. Its hanging whenever i let off the throttle and dropping very slowly. I changed the TPS and that seemed to have worked for maybe a day. Next day it was doing the same things again. Changed the IAC and thst didn't help either so i tried the TPS again and tried adjusting the set screw for the idle a little bit and none of that helped either. Idle is hanging whenever i let off throttle, dropping very slowly, hanging at about 1200 before dropping all the way to regular idle rpm and sometimes itll stay at 750ish snd other times it ill drop to 500 or a little under. I have no idea what else to do and really need some help. Engine was just rebuilt a little over 3k miles ago along with the T56 tranny. Only check engine light is 0456 which has just come on. SOMEONE PLEASE HELP ME!!!

I have heard before that aftermarket sensors don't always like to talk well with dodge computers. It might be worth a dealer diagnostic fee to save a lot of parts swapping though. Welcome to the club as well ;)

Last edited:
Check your vacuum hoses under intake and under throttle body. They are getting old and tend to split at the bends or could just be off. Disconnect battery for about 10 mins touch positive cable to neg cable while disconnected to clear PCM and relearn TPS.