Header/Steering Problem

ScottVa

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just installed Billy Boat headers on an 04 and now the steering knuckle/u-joint is hitting one of the header pipes. The truck won't steer correctly. Any suggestions? HELP!!

um stupid questions but are the headers lined up and installed correctly....has you truck ever been in a accident?

Troy, no accidents and the headers installed correctly and easily. I searched the forum and saw no posts relating to this problem. I feel I am screwed royally but thought I would ask here first.

I would post a few good pics. This way maybe someone sees something that you do not.
Last night I saw Tito#14SRT CE. I believe he said his has B&B headers. I even made a comment on how close they come to the steering, but his still had a gap and didnt hit.

No maybe not...there has to be something weird.....How much is it hitting by? Barely? What kind of gaskets did you use? Post a few pics at different angles.....I'm new to the 10's but this sounds like a typical fittiment issue....

is there a part # or something one it for one to tell the difference?

With B@B they build to order these days, they dont shelf any parts for the srt anymore, so I doubt they take the time to stamp anything they send out.

best thing for him to do is get with whom he bought the headers, ask them, if its a vendor they should know what they are for
if individual, well then buyer beware.

but basically all one could do at this point is to indent the header, some may say its not the thing to do,and it hurts hp, but in reality, its not gonna hinder hp that much, it all depends on how much modificton it would need.