How Much is To Much?

Tooloe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
like the title says i'm down to the last parts of my build i just ordered my cam. and i am talking with my nitrous guy. With forged pistons and rods what would you say a safe number to spray would be? i'm thinking some where in the 200 range not much over but nothing less really

Last edited:
Disclaimer: I am not an expert. :p

However, I would think that you would be safe up to maybe a 300 shot (properly tuned of course) with your mods. I think there are a few on here running large N2O shots (NOWWHAT comes to mind). I'm sure they will chime in...

Please understand that Nowhats engine was specifically designed for spraying under boost and cost 20K alone...

jrgnd said:
Please understand that Nowhats engine was specifically designed for spraying under boost and cost 20K alone...

Understood and please understand my motor is built for spray! lol:rock: or can handle spray.. i'm just looking for a round about idea of what everyones running thats forged

For an educated guess I would have to ask a few questions first before I could try to understand how much of a shot you could take.

What is your compression ratio of your build? What kind of internals are you running? What kind of cam and heads you running? What kind of Nitrous system do you want to run? What kind of power adder other than Nitrous are you going to run if any? Is your fuel system and injectors upgraded? What about your plugs.........do you have 2 step colder plugs? Are you thinking race gas or pump gas? Are your forged pistons coated for N20? Do you have billet mains? Has your transmission been built?

There are so many more questions that would need to be asked in addition to those listed above to get an educated guess. From experience on a stock QC with frequent band adjustment will handle a 150 shot with race gas and a stage2 flash. The zex kit with a 175 shot resulted in this run: