N2O and Methanol

labontecsi

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Can meth be used as the additional fuel in a wet nitrous system?
Reason I ask is I have a meth kit for the truck and meth has a higher octane rating than pump gas.

I am not an expert, but I believe the answer is NO. While it is true that Meth has a higher octane rating, meth injection is designed as a intake charge cooler vice fuel supply. The normal meth injection kits use a mix of methanol and water again emphasizing the cooling effect of the system.

Hopefully others with actual experience will chime in and clarify if meth can be substituted.

I don't know of any reason chemically-speaking that methanol and nitrous oxide could not be used in conjunction with one another. I plan on doing so myself, but not using methanol as the enrichment fuel (just as a cooling agent).

However, you will need to ensure that your methanol injection system can add enough fuel to match the nitrous oxide being injected. If I remember correctly, it will take twice as much methanol as gasoline, and the jetting on a water/meth injection system was not intended to be a fuel enrichment system as much as an intake air cooling system (as TG mentioned above). It might be much easier to set up a wet nitrous system with a basic fuel pump feeding the methanol vs. trying to get the mix right from a water/meth injection system.;)

Ram From Hell said:
I don't know of any reason chemically-speaking that methanol and nitrous oxide could not be used in conjunction with one another. I plan on doing so myself, but not using methanol as the enrichment fuel (just as a cooling agent).

It might be much easier to set up a wet nitrous system with a basic fuel pump feeding the methanol vs. trying to get the mix right from a water/meth injection system.;)
That is exactly what I was thinking. I just did not expand my thought to a separate fuel system for the meth.