Preventative maintenance

Wildcard

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am new to the 8.3L V10. I feel the truck has more than enough power. Is there anything that should be addressed for longevity purposes. I have noticed more than a few broken valve springs and dropped valves prompting rebuilds. Should these be replaced before its a problem. Would like to know if there are any other upgrades that you seasoned guys think are almost mandatory. Thanks

I have lost 2 valve springs but mainly my fault. I dont fix it till its broke seems like i make it worse when i try to do preventative maint. From what i have learned replace head bolts if you pull the heads and rocker arm bolts if you pull them just be on the safe side. If you have an auto change fluid and adjust bands every 12000 miles

I'm past 160K miles. I follow manuf schedule for most items, use manuf recommended fluids (always) and common sense (when I have some). I recently completed my 50th oil change! With the RC I'd suggest replacing the clutch fluid in the resv at every oil change. I also change my trans fluid and rear diff fluid every 10K miles. Truck runs and drives like the day I took if off the lot back in 2004.

I have lost 2 valve springs but mainly my fault. I dont fix it till its broke seems like i make it worse when i try to do preventative maint. From what i have learned replace head bolts if you pull the heads and rocker arm bolts if you pull them just be on the safe side. If you have an auto change fluid and adjust bands every 12000 miles

Rebuilt my auto at 48K and at 109K have not change the fluid or adjusted the bands. Operates as it did the day I picked up from the re-builder. Fluid smells and looks new and the shifting is 1st rate. Took it by a shop and they said sure "but why adjust the bands when it is shifting perfectly?" :dontknow: