stroke of brilliance??

Randall488

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Got to thinkin, I'm gonna supercharge my 8.0... but if I want better mpg at times... how could I disengage the supercharger... I wonder if you can wire in an a/c clutch for the pulley..? Ideas? Thoughts?

some report better mpg at cruising speeds with supercharging. If you disengage the blower impeller, it will block airflow. It doesnt work that way. Dont over complicate it. If you want less parasitic power loss and increased efficiency, a turbo may be another solution, but to do it for MPG savings would be futile because of the extra expense to set it up.

I've given thought to turbos, I'm a diesel tech by trade. Ive got holset guts lyin around like they're out of style. But I don't like the wistle on gassers.. the whine is better. But I didn't realize the impeller would completely block airflow? It should in theory still turn if air is passint into the case.. right? I'm just huntin info here.

A straight shaft ball bearing turbo will spin... A gear reduction supercharger will not. Even if it did (with the A/C compressor clutch theory), the turbulence and intake restriction would reduce efficiency and MPG. At cruise, you will be in vacuum anyway, and the supercharger isnt straining against compressed air or struggling to gain rpms during acceleration. It is spinning with centrifugal force, in the draft of air the engine is pulling. Its better for air flow that the blades be spinning, by belt driven power.

I've gained better fuel economy with the ROE and with my Paxton on my truck! Look at Ford with their Eco boost TT truck that they use for better fuel economy.

Got to thinkin, I'm gonna supercharge my 8.0... but if I want better mpg at times... how could I disengage the supercharger... I wonder if you can wire in an a/c clutch for the pulley..? Ideas? Thoughts?