Yamaha V-Max

Racing your truck against a VMax isn't even a contest..........Sorry.:eek:

I've been riding muscle bikes since the mid 60s....from the days of the original Triumph Bonneville and TR through the Snortin' Norton 750, the Mighty 900Kawi, ZX11, ZX10r to today.....I owned 'em all...

These bikes get fkn lost quick...at any roll... I'm not an expert about many things... But on a big bore bike at over 150 mph, I know a bit....... Been to 180 many, many times....

Anyone who drag races a 500lb 125hp bike against a 5400lb 500 hp truck is looking forward to only one thing..... A nice view of a bike getting very small, very quickly.....

Django

Last edited:
This is better than me trying to race my uncles viper... just rember you can't redlight on the road...

I mean, hell......

Bike = 4.00 hp per pound
Truck = .92 hp per pound

Power to weight is almost everything.......

Django

Silent D said:
I mean, hell......

Bike = 4.00 hp per pound
Truck = .92 hp per pound

Power to weight is almost everything.......

Django

Agreed. I had no idea a "Vmax" was the performer it was. . . :D

Guess I am going to find out the hard way!

Last edited:
Well. Here we go folks, in 10 minutes I'm gonna lose my ass!:D

Silent D said:
These bikes get fkn lost quick...at any roll... I'm not an expert about many things... But on a big bore bike at over 150 mph, I know a bit....... Been to 180 many, many times....

Django

My FZ1 pudders out at 150... :eek:

WILDMAN

Man, race him in the 280Z. You can half track him . A co-worker has one and I can beat him by 15 cars in a 1/4 easy.

Wade

There's no argument the Japanese have led the motorcycling world in terms of producing efficient, reliable machines as far back as the 1960s. What they have been less good at is making bikes which stand out as being totally original instead of developments of already existing concepts. That was until the Yamaha V-Max arrived in 1985.