2006 vs 2004-2005 oil dipstick tube

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by BigRed460, Aug 5, 2022.

Car Parts
  1. BigRed460

    BigRed460 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    3,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    I broke my oil dipstick tube years ago during my nitrous build and have never been able to find a replacement, I found a 2006 tube and dipstick on eBay this week but it's a different part number.

    Can someone with a 2006 post some pictures so I can guess if it works?
     
  2. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,854
    Likes Received:
    1,479
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    The 2006 tube will work however it is a different length than the 2004/2005.
    I cant remember if it is longer or shorter.
    Once you know your oil pan has the proper amount of oil, remark the dipstick with a notch, paint or whatever...
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  3. Bowieeeeeeeeee

    Bowieeeeeeeeee New Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2021
    Why would they have changed the dipstick (I’m curious?)
    Did they improve it because of a known fault, or just cheaper to make.
     
  4. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,854
    Likes Received:
    1,479
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    A different dipstick tube adds to the confusion.

    I sometimes hear the 2005-2006 RAM SRT-10 held 9.9L or 10.5 US quarts, which would overfill them.

    The RAM SRT-10 oil pan capacity is the same from year to year.
     
  5. AMS3

    AMS3 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    979
    Likes Received:
    637
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    Have you tried contacting X2 Builders? That's where I get any parts I need.
     
  6. BigRed460

    BigRed460 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    3,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    Yes I tried X2, I have actually broke 2 tubes over the years. I forget to remove them when pulling the motor.

    ...and thank you ronnie, that's the perfect solution. I'm just happy to know it will fit.