Driving at the Limits

SRTHOR

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I can't say I'm a great driver bc I've never had anything with real power, I've been able to drift my old QC ram around a round about smooth and I've driven some GTO's, V8 M3's etc, but I was watching some old school Top Gear on Net Flix and they were talking about how easy the GTO was to drive at its limits without loosing control. I know many of you have had a GTO and a 10. I like the GTO drivability even though it's ugly. So I'd like some comparison and some general comments about 10 and 10vs GTO's at their limits. From what I've read about the Viper it's easy to push it past it limits and be out of control quickly. Is the 10 the same way?

I havent lost control of mine yet, and I know for damn sure Ive pushed it to its limits without being on an actual track. (how gay would that look, a QC on a road course) Theres the infamous burn-out then flip video of that guy in his 10. But who knows how long he had that thing. I have heard stories about people spinning out in PCB trying to show-off and have seen a few members here loose it (cough, cough Mopar cough) but I think its just like any other car. If you respect the power it has, and remember that it really does have over 500 hp, and spend some time building your skills, you'll probably be ok. There is no traction control, its all on the driver. Thats why you hear that about the Vipers. In my opinion thats how it should be, a real drivers machine. If you were a good driver before and are confident in your skills without being cocky, you will have some real fun with this thing. If you drive like a bitch all the time and then decide to show off leaving the car show one day, youre gonna look like an idiot. Not saying thats gonna happen, but you know if youre a good driver or not.