Dyno coming up with new stage 2

amtrucker22

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Please remember I am new to the performance world.

I should be getting my new Stage II from TheMoparConnection soon :burnout:. Once I get this I am going to take it to XXX Motorsports here in town (thanks for the tips Smoke) and get it dyno'd. When I was at the Memorial day GTG at Earl's someone mentioned that I should do the dyno before I install the stage II and then after I install the stage II (since I get 3 runs). After talking with Smoke he mentioned I would need to drive the truck for 50-100 miles to get the truck use to the new pcm. So to avoid paying to dyno my truck twice, I was curious to what type of gains I should see without driving my truck inbetween runs. How much time is spent on the dyno (miles put on the truck?)

Is there anything I should look for when getting it dyno'd? Smoke mentioned my air to fuel ratio. Anything else?

Thanks,

Paul

Dave T(BADVENM) said:
Make sure you are in tow/haul mode otherwise it will shift out of the power band.
Damn, I would of never thought to put it in tow/haul mode. Thanks :rock: :rock:

I don't know the answer to your question about changing the pcm between runs. . . Seems it would be a good idea to let it learn the new pcm. . .

Things to look for? Look/hope for a good smooth steady graph/curve. Inquire about and sudden dips or sudden spikes.

there is no "learning the new pcm" whoever started that rumor should be shot. it learns if you have bad gas by retarding the timing but that's about it.

good luck!

don't bother with the dyno...you will feel a huge difference...much more than a dyno will show...

amtrucker22 said:
Damn, I would of never thought to put it in tow/haul mode. Thanks :rock: :rock:

You can also disconnect the kick-down cable. Remember that you won't see much in Max HP and Max TRQ. Where you will see most of your gains will be in the lower RPM bands.

AWDisuzu said: