How difficult/expensive to put T56 in QC?

amartin3

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just as the title says. How expensive would it be to put a T56 in a QC? Has anyone done this?

It would be costly and dont forget the QC is heavier than a RC so the clutch would suffer. But if you got a stack of cash, your talking new t56 tranny $6k or so, full clutch setup $2k, custom drive shaft, pedal intallation, shifter $500+.................I am not a mechanic.............so this is just my guesstimate.

patrick

for 2500 bucks you can buy a tranny that will shift faster than a 6sp................... for 500 you can make yours bullet proof for the stock engine.

I think a 6 spd in a QC would be a blast! Im sure it can be done,can't be that hard,theres lots of wrecked trucks around to get the parts you need to make it work.

bigike said:
for 2500 bucks you can buy a tranny that will shift faster than a 6sp................... for 500 you can make yours bullet proof for the stock engine.

I'd love to see this magical transmission.........;) Even modern Euro "semi autos" can't compete with manuals, some (-2%) will out run them in a sprint though but in a Dodge ram for that little coin?? They will be more consistent but not faster, have them do 10 passes each and if you had to pick the 1 best time from both - manual will win. Plus, it's way more fun, drive a manual, steer an automatic.

And somebody to program/tune it and somebody who has the skill and expertise to put it all together and make it work so that it doesn't look like a hack job. Keisler tried a T56 swap in a Charger SRT8. They accomplished the physical swap but had problems with the PCM and CAN Bus and couldn't get the tune right. They also had problems with clutches, e.g. many failures. I understand, they eventually gave up on the concept.

mauiSRT/10 said: