interesting coincidence.... 6sp trans

Chuck B

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Original owner of my 05 RC now with140k. I installed a B&M shifter when they were first offered them back in 06. Much better than stock. Truck sat hardly used the last few yrs but started driving it almost daily last fall. I began to notice the shifter would fall out of its position with a little pressure. Trans shifted fine and never slipped out of gear. I assumed the shifter itself was worn...detent slots? Anyways, a couple months later it got much worse...handle would flob all around but again shifting was perfect and never slipped out of gear. It was bad enough that I was considering throwing the stock shifter back in to verify it was the shifter and not the trans itself.

Before I got around to it my slave unit gave up. Luckily leaving me stranded at home. A call to JMB had a new viper upgrade mstr and slave at my door a few days later. I'm no auto mechanic but know my way with tools. I assumed it would be an easy swap...I didn't realize the trans would have to come out to replace the slave. Undeterred, the dog and I got it done the other morning. Me doing the work and him supervising lol. Trans came out easy but took me a bit longer to get it back in....3hrs total.

I used a speed bleeder and got a firm peddle. Started the truck and success! However, my previously floppy shift lever felt brand new. Even a firm pull while in gear it would not come out of position. I've been racking my brain trying to figure out how the issues are related. Can anyone offer a logical correlation? THIA

BTW...driving it reconfirmed my love for the truck and so i stopped by my dealer for some up grades; lower ball joints, upper arms, wheel bearing hubs, spark plugs, new coils, wires, fuel injectors then for some bling JMB catless mids with Billy Boat exhaust. Here's to another 140k!!