Misc head change items

spdrcrj

Reaction score
Hey All...since I could not sell the ported heads, I've decided to just put them on myself. I only have about a 6 day window to do this in so I'm trying to get my ducks in a row beforehand. I ordered a upper gasket kit, thermostat, and hardened pushrods (as per this site's recommendations) from Justin. I know I'll need new coolant as well. Are there any other minor things I'll need to buy to complete the head change? I've never done this kind of work before but I have the complete service manual on my laptop and plan on following the steps contained to a "T". Any help or advise would be appreciated as always.

Jim.......hoping to be a member of the 500rwhp club soon. :rock:

There are so many things that could go wrong, I would not advise this as a novice install.
ie; One tool you will need is a very high quality torque wrench,which most people don't have in their home tool box.

At the least go around and find an experienced mechanic that would come by
and over see the job for a reasonable price.

Last edited:
I do have a Craftsman torque wrench and have performed all of my own bolt-ons, brake, and suspension mods on all of my vehicles. I will be doing the work at the base auto hobby shop where I know the guys who work there very well and they will gladly lend a hand. I do agree with you supercar, I would not attempt this in my garage solo.

Sorry, I thought you were going to try this under the old shade tree.
WHEW!:rock:

its not hard at all. i did it in my geroge in a little over a day. just make sure you get all the pushrods on the tops of the lifters, the front ones are easy but the ones in the back are hard to see. you will probably need some help mounting the heads to the block also.