New to forum

silverqc87

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all I've had my silver 05 qc for about a year. Just found this forum the other day. Love the truck...just have some questions about it every other day or so...for instance where is my oil going? No leaks...running about 180-205 coolant temp, 180 -200 oil temp. Good pressure. Basicly dry on dipstick. Any ideas?

Maybe look underneath it and see if oil is leaking from the back of the valve cover gaskets then burning off on exhaust pipes. Your gonna burn a quart of oil every 2000 miles in normal driving conditions. Mopar V10s and V8 hemis all burn a little oil. How much oil are you loosing? I'm a newb to the srt10 community someone here will chime in sooner or later.

Oil cooler lines?

Our oil cooler lines are prone to leaking yet weaping and getting blown all over underside and yet never drip to floor. Make sure it's always registering on dipstick!! Mopar filter and 15/50 Mobil 1.

Last edited by a moderator:
Pull the intake pull the heads remove valves and check the guides. Mine was doing this awhile back and had a broken valve guide

I went ahead and did an oil change and it has been sitting for 6 months but I only pulled maybe 6.5 quarts out and filled back with 9. Cleaned the engine and will check for leaks over the next couple of days. I appreciate you guys input. I'll update once I figure it out.

Maybe look underneath it and see if oil is leaking from the back of the valve cover gaskets then burning off on exhaust pipes. Your gonna burn a quart of oil every 2000 miles in normal driving conditions. Mopar V10s and V8 hemis all burn a little oil. How much oil are you loosing? I'm a newb to the srt10 community someone here will chime in sooner or later.

Oil cooler lines?

IF you were burning oil anywhere around the engine, you would smell it. It is NOT normal for our V10's to burn oil. Disregard the quart every 2000 miles comment. Mine has not burned any oil in 8 years of ownership.