Noob from Houston area

Status
Not open for further replies.

SergioL.

Full Access Member
Reaction score
As of yesterday I am the new owner of an '04 Silver Viper truck with 55k. It is stock except for a K&N intake and a McGaughys 1.5/2 drop. So far I am loving it. The sound system, handling, and power are NICE! I did my first oil change yesterday with a K&N oil filter. I have missed third a couple of times already(gone into 5th), but I will be removing the rubber bushing on the shifter to see if that helps.

Sorry if these questions have been asked before but I am a noob.

My truck has polished wheels, I thought these were not available in'04?

My truck has a trailer hitch and bumper with the trailer hitch opening. Did somebody add this? I though '04's did not have this as an option?

My throttle body is very shiny and looks to be obviously made out of billet aluminum. Is it aftermarket?

I can't seem to find a straight answer on this:
What fluid are ya'll using in the T56 and how much does it take?

What gear oil are ya'll using in the diff. and how many quarts does it take?

What engine coolant are ya'll using and what is the capacity of the cooling system?

What spark plugs are recommended?

Is there anything special I should run as far as brake fluid or power steering fluid?

What other things would you do on a 10 with 55k as far as maintenance?

Thanks guys, I appreciate any help/information. I want to go through everything before I really start putting miles on her.:rock:

Welcome to the VTCoA:rock:

The wheels are the same for every year... somebody added the hitch... and you have an aftermarket TB.:D

Welcome to the VTCoA.
TB sounds aftermarket.
75w90 on the gear oil.
trailer hitch someone put it on.
Brake and steering fluid no.

I thought the throttle body looked to good to be stock. :D The truck also has Nitto 420s' in the stock sizes with plenty of meat on them.