Screaming sound coming from front of engine.

1fastcruiser

Reaction score
There is a very loud screaming sound coming from the pulleys fan belt area. It increases with RPM's, I replaced the belt with new when the sound first started. I replaced the power steering pump in August. It was an overhauled unit. I am an aircraft tech by trade. I put a stethoscope on everything and cannot determine where the high pitch screech is coming from. Nothing is vibrating. The screech is very present but I can not pick up the noise from any component. It is driving my crazy. I bought a new power steering pump and redline fluid. Last pump changed I used O Rieley brand.

check that crank pulley out asap! do not drive it and only run it to figure it out! It shouldn't be hard to figure out.....

There is a very loud screaming sound coming from the pulleys fan belt area. It increases with RPM's, I replaced the belt with new when the sound first started. I replaced the power steering pump in August. It was an overhauled unit. I am an aircraft tech by trade. I put a stethoscope on everything and cannot determine where the high pitch screech is coming from. Nothing is vibrating. The screech is very present but I can not pick up the noise from any component. It is driving my crazy. I bought a new power steering pump and redline fluid. Last pump changed I used O Rieley brand.

make sure the pump you purchased was for the srt10, alot I have found at autozip or advance are for a hemi actually, they are valved different and do not work properly, its best to get a new ps unit from dodge when you actually need one

someone put a Roe on yer truck maybe...?...lol

if nothing is lose try and put baby power on your belt damn cold weather will make them slip sometimes that should fix it.

My belt kept slipping on cold starts. Fine once it was warm. Turned out to be a bad tensioner. Just a thought.