some questions

jeff_from_jeffco

Full Access Member
Reaction score
please excuse my ignorance, because as i said i have dealt mostly with the "stock" world, but how much wakeing up would it do i was to have my truck tuned. I graduated from ranken technical college and the high performance instructor there said he would like to use my truck as a demonstration of what can be gained out of a tune. i'de be the one running the dyno the whole time, but he would be the one doing the tune. Should i give it a shot? and if so how much would i see gains out of a stock truck with a tune? and if a tune was done good and right will i lose mpg (highway cruiseing)?

Last edited:
RC gains on a canned tune are not that big. QC guys pick up more, due to the torque management changes to the transmission. You have to start making mods to make power.

i've been looking into cat backs, but i really just don't know where to look for good deals, or what will sound nice, or anything lol. never had a car that was worth any modification other than stereo stuff.

You'll gain more just from deleting 2 or all 4 cats. Full header back exhausts on these trucks is not for the faint of heart in terms of cost.

You'll gain more just from deleting 2 or all 4 cats. Full header back exhausts on these trucks is not for the faint of heart in terms of cost.

i know :( but yeah i don't wanna delete the cats i like being legal. will u throw a cel if u delete just the rears?

hmmm i may have to lok into this. have a guy good with welding and he helped me delete my rear cats on another car :) do u really see a hp gain deleteing the rear cats?

I just deleted my rear cats last week. Not only is the sound much better, but the truck feels way more responsive in my opinion.

You absolutely gain power. How much, IDK, but before I got rid of my rear cats, my truck wouldn't chirp on the 2-3 shift, now it does.