Tipping

amtrucker22

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I read in a previous thread by Trekker that he tipped his service manager and viper tech.

This is the first time I have a car that is under warranty and that I would even go to the dealership. Is this a standard practice for good service at a dealership?:dontknow: I know that it is important to develop a good relationship with these people especially a good viper tech.

Sorry for the noob question I am still learning!

Paul

I was asking myself the same question!

Never heard of that before......:dontknow:

Having worked at a dealer before, I would say "no". However, I have been tipped before, but it was a very rare occurance. The tech probably got paid his hourly rate for the amount of time invested in the project and service manager probably makes a salary plus a commision on net profit.

So tipping them was a very nice gesture, but everyone got paid regardless. It's not like they live off of tips. :) It also sounded like they deserved it too, they took good care of Scott.

best tip you can give them is "dont eat yellow snow"

really your the customer and we (i work as a parts director at a dodge dealer) need to take care of you so really just a hand shake and a kind word that we did a good job is all we need.

I would give five bucks to buy a coke & burger for a job well done. When I was working as a mechanic there were times I got tipped a couple of bucks (never in double digits) just because I stayed late to fix their car or because I was very social and interactive with the customer.

dragon said:
best tip you can give them is "dont eat yellow snow"

really your the customer and we (i work as a parts director at a dodge dealer) need to take care of you so really just a hand shake and a kind word that we did a good job is all we need.