trouble starting.

jsonger

Reaction score
Ok I got off work this morning and went to fire the srt after not firing for a day. No issues. Drove maybe 3 min to my room. Turned it off and went inside. Came out maybe 20 min later and the truck cranked two or 3 times, stopped and cranked again 2or 3 times and fires right up. I didn't let off the ignition the whole time. Started fine all the rest of the day. No other issues. The whole process maybe lasted 5 seconds. Any ideas?

Process of elimination. :) Several possibilities: 1) battery has had it and finding it hard to generate the required cranking amps. Check the voltage with a meter reader to see what it is with the truck off and then get someone to read it as you crank it over. Post what you find here or talk to a battery shop. The truck should read around 14-14.5v when running and around 12.5-13v off. I'm no battery pro but I believe if it's dropping below 9 or 10? to crank it over it's a bad battery. Double check that, this is off the top of my head.

2) a bad ground. Maybe caused by being put in wrong (hard to get a ground wrong, but, there ARE Muppet's out there). Finding a bad ground will take time to trace but if you're scratching your head and running out of possible issues, it should be done (won't hurt).

3) Probably the worst case, the starter motor. I doubt it will be this as if it can start the engine (eventually) then it's not toooooo bad but it could also be on it's way out. Those are my thoughts, pop the hood, get yah hands dirty and track that sombitch down. Good luck!! ;)

2c :)