2005 QC Transmission Slipping

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Gill, Jul 15, 2020.

Car Parts
  1. Gill

    Gill New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Same thing I do now, just dispatching however. Regional, haul for many wineries in the area
     
    AMS3 and Kiwi SRT10 like this.
  2. Kiwi SRT10

    Kiwi SRT10 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    284
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Location:
    New Zealand
    We would pick up the Wine barrels from Lebanon MO or sometimes Lazy-Boy chair parts from Neosho MO bring them out to Cal then mostly Salinas to Bakersfield for produce back to the midwest
    Kansas City mostly. We would have lived there if we could but 2008 there were no more work visas then the gfc and that was that. Our boss died in a light plane crash so Delta Express (Cape Girardeau MO)is no more. That was the last outfit we worked for. We had a cream job there. Volvo/Mack truck parts from Ohio to Reno then lettuce from Dole Soledad back to Springfield OH. 7000 miles a week. Every week. Sometimes it was drop and hook and take empty cartons back to Soledad.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2020
    AMS3 likes this.
  3. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    561
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Hey Gill:

    How is the transmission behaving?
     
  4. Gill

    Gill New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    Hello Ronnie, it is going good. Tweaked the cable a little more and its shifting like normal. Now planning the power steering lines replacement Friday along with checking out the oil temp pillar gauge.
     
    AMS3, Kiwi SRT10 and rottenronnie like this.
  5. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    561
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    I had mine done at a local industrial hose place. The swivel (top hose) is Teflon inside and can leak over time. Mine is solid now (no swivel) and no more leaks.

    Glad to hear you nailed the kickdown adjustment.
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  6. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    561
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    IF you want a BIG increase in performance and one you will never equal again for the price, have a good tuner tune your truck. The Quad Cabs receive a major boost in performance with one. The tune can routinely knock a full second off your elapsed time as it adds around 80 lbs. feet of torque (under the curve), or stated another way before peak torque.

    I use Chris Jensen at christuned but he can be hard to get in touch with. Many guys on this forum have had good luck with Torrie at Unleashed Performance. Either can provide you with a handheld tuner and tunes to go with it. The included "Valet Tune" is handy in the event you need to leave your truck somewhere. It prevents wide open power and even being able to "rev it up" which I've never understood the concept of.

    Cheers.
     
  7. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    561
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    If you decide on a tune, have them max out the rpm on the 3-4 shift. The stock program short-shifts (too soon) and really affects top-end performance.
    Mine shifts 3-4 at 197 km/hr or so and stays at the top of the shocks when it does.
    Fun stuff.
     
    AMS3 and Kiwi SRT10 like this.
  8. Kiwi SRT10

    Kiwi SRT10 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    284
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Nice to have a win!!
    Tunes are a must as these things waste fuel. I have a Torrie Tune from Unleashed Tuning using HP Tuner MVPI2 and my laptop. With any luck when I do get on a Dyno it can all be viewed and adjusted from there
    https://unleashedtuning.com/programmers-tuning-1/
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  9. Gill

    Gill New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    I ordered the ones from Tony last week, they seemed to have a solid rep and similar pricing to getting new ones made locally. Thank you on the pointers just glad wasnt the tranny need replacing
     
  10. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    561
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    An eddy-current (loading dyno) like a Mustang works great for tuning as you can simulate road load with those.

    A high-resolution O2 sensor is a must for nailing proper A/F ratios while tuning on the dyno. Although you can see the knock sensors coming to life on the laptop, you can often hear the engine ping while on the dyno to nail down advance (unless a loud exhaust system is being used).
     
  11. Gill

    Gill New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    I was thinking about doing the tune for it, one from Torrie. Seems very affordable considering the gains. Even entertaining a throttle body from Tony's shop. Any worth with that?
     
  12. Gill

    Gill New Member

    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    15
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2020
    It helped out the MPG? I was thinking about using them also, and then going to a buddy with a dyno to maximize the tune
     
  13. Kiwi SRT10

    Kiwi SRT10 Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    284
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2019
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Oh Yes I have about 3mpg improvement. With Gas at $8/gal in NZ I need all the help I can get
     
  14. AMS3

    AMS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    I installed a BBK Throttle Body, about three months ago, and a Jtsvp billeted underdrive pulley two weeks ago. Between the two, I've noticed a significant quicker response time with the pulley. I'm sure the guys on here can tell you about the difference. Only thing, the BBK sticks at a little above idle once in awhile, while at a stop light/sign. It'll be around 850-1000 RPM. All I do is tap the pedal, and it goes back to normal. It's doing it less and less as the throttle body wears in. Other than a K&N cai, and a catch can, my engine is stock.

    https://shop.jtsvp.com/category.sc?categoryId=206

    https://www.bbkperformance.com/dodge-srt-10-throttle-body-04-06.html
     
    Kiwi SRT10 likes this.
  15. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    561
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    I cant really comment on specific power gains from Tony's throttle body; I don't know anything about it.

    I was given a ported throttle body years ago from one of the members here: FSTJACK and it was dead even with the BBK for power gains and it is still on my engine.

    Let's say 8 for the pulley and 12 for a good throttle body.

    And, quicker throttle response from each.

    As far as sticking goes, there is a curb-idle screw adjustment that can be touchy and will fight with the AIR control for idle speed if the screw is too far one way or the other. That's what happened with mine and a few others.

    So I don't know if it is physically sticking (throttle blades in the bore) OR the curb-idle adjustment/AIR control is the issue.
     
    AMS3 and Kiwi SRT10 like this.
  16. GSJake

    GSJake Active Member

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018

    I second the ported TB from FSTJACK. He did mine in March and the butt dyno approves. :)

    Here is his web page.. https://www.thefastman.com/

    He does not have cores for our trucks but if you can afford the downtime you can send it when he is ready and it will be about 3-4 days turnaround.

    OR

    Do like I did, Prefix still has some new old stock for our trucks.. get this one.. and then send it to him. Zero downtime other then the install!
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/THROTTLE-B...612494&hash=item46ae448736:g:j-IAAOSwih9ewt2L
     
    AMS3 and Kiwi SRT10 like this.
  17. rottenronnie

    rottenronnie Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Messages:
    3,254
    Likes Received:
    561
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    There you go.
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  18. AMS3

    AMS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    Since I now have the BBK, I wonder if TheFastMan would be interested in buying my stock one? Then he would have one in inventory for the next SRT 10 owner. I just sent him an email, waiting for response. If he is interested in buying mine, I'll let ya'll know.
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2020
    Srt10650 and GSJake like this.
  19. GSJake

    GSJake Active Member

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Thats cool. I will let him answer.. but when I spoke to him he said he only does these trucks maybe 1 a year.
    He was not really concerned on having a core.. hence why he took down the SRT-10 link on his webpage.

    Let us know for the next person on who may want to order one... Thanks!
     
    AMS3 likes this.
  20. AMS3

    AMS3 Active Member

    Messages:
    337
    Likes Received:
    127
    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2019
    Location:
    Savannah Ga
    So far no response from him. If i don't hear back from him by middle of next week, I'll create a post on here to see if someone would be interested in buying mine so that they can send it to him. Don't let me forget :)