Obviously i am no mechanic:????

jeffgilliam.2005

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What does everyone recommend if i want to put a paxton on my r/c, As far as other mods needed to handle the hair dryer underneath the hood..Any advice willl go far....Thanks!!!!

Welcome Jeff. Its always a great idea to look at others mods whom already have a paxton. To start with I would get a catback, Centerforce clutch, viper master and slave unit and a VEC............then start condsidering traction issues.....JMB and Caltracs.

patrick

At a minimum upgraded pistons (this is a MUST). While you do that might as well upgrade the rods, thats what I would do if I could do it over again (already upgraded pistons).

Not necessarily. You need to talk with Nowwhat, Prof, NBT, Marc T and possibly VPRPWR. They all have FI. Lots of people have just bolted it on.......just depends on the amount of boost and tune.

patrick

KABOOM internally. Heck, it could let go on the dyno when you tune it. The pistons WILL NOT handle 8psi of boost. Trust me and others when we say upgrade the pistons. Spend 1-2K on pistons vs 7-8K to find another used motor.

Forced Induction.

Who will be installing and tuning your hair dryer(s)? Theres only a handfull of tuners who can do it properly. Bad tune equals blown motor!!

I have yet to find anyone around me, more than likely i will have to travel to drop it off...i ask though because it is getting close to doing something...