Engine Tick!!!

yellowFeVEr#270

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I know now how loud our engines in these trucks are, but i believe my truck has a valve tick. The hotter it gets the more noticeable it is. I may be trippin out, but everything i have ever known about any engine tells me i should be looking around for some internal engine components. Just wanted to see if this is normal or should i be concerned. I will try and get some video clips up tomorrow.

how loud??? i had a lifter fail and it got LOUD and lucky it was a 20$ part, well minus new gaskets and such..

Its loud enough to have me concerned...very concerned. I do this for a living, but with what i read i learned that these motors are loud but i have literally zero experience with the viper engine, everything i know tells me that i have a lifter failing...

What oil are you using? How old is the oil? Some change to a heavier oil to help with the tick issue. Hard to diagnosis with the information given.

This is how you correctly remove a tick...next question.

tick05.gif

Great, Now i have to wipe coffee off my monitor........!!

If you haven't done so you need to get under the hood and give it a good listening to. If you have headers a small gasket leak can sound like a lifter. So can a loose spark plug or a broken valve spring.

Great, Now i have to wipe coffee off my monitor........!!

If you haven't done so you need to get under the hood and give it a good listening to. If you have headers a small gasket leak can sound like a lifter. So can a loose spark plug or a broken valve spring.

Great info for sure! I'm thinking one of those ^^^

I've had my truck about 3/4 weeks, and I've noticed it too. I'm definitely still not used to the motor sound, and still am skeptical to the "tick". It sounds a lot like an exhaust leak, but I can't find anything. About the loose spark plug possibility, wouldn't that cause a misfire?